Below the Surface by Elizabeth Lee – Review

Below the Surface

BelowtheSurfaceLEECoverSynopsis

Daniella Alvarez and Dylan McKendrie used to be in love. They used to be a team. An inseparable force to be reckoned with. But, when tragedy struck, their relationship sank faster than the ships they used to scour the ocean floor for. Now all that’s left are scattered remains of what used to be.
Dylan, no longer seeking the mysteries on the ocean floor, now goes for the sure things and the guaranteed paychecks. When a longtime friend suggests he has hard proof that one of those legends that used to keep Dylan up at night could be real, he’s torn between going after the gold and maintaining the life he’d built since leaving The Florida Keys.
Daniella was always a dreamer. She’s always been chasing what would most deem unattainable—professionally and personally. Everything she’d ever wanted seemed to slip through her fingers the day he left, which is exactly why his return has her seeing red.
Can the two of them put their past aside long enough to figure out a mystery that has plagued them both for years? Can they work together to see what lies below the surface?

goodreads

 13177218_1311060072242946_6252231955912346037_n

Review

4.5-Stars

Loved this one. Romance, mystery, a second chance at love and treasure hunting what more could you ask for.

My Thoughts

Below the Surface is a sexy second-chance romance, with unique, fun twist. Dylan and Dani broke up five years ago when he left the island to move up north leaving her behind. Each blames the other for the break, but It was not easy for either of them. 5 years later they are brought back together in search of the sunken ship that brought them together in the first place and potential treasure it holds. Tensions are running high as they search the sea for the lost ship and the chemistry between  Dylan and Dani becomes harder and harder to deny.

From the first time we see Dylan and Dani together you can’t help wanting them to kiss and make up already! As a story that potentially held a lot of angst and drama in their relationship I greatly appreciated how well the author navigated their relationship and there wasn’t any unnecessary drama, which is a major bonus for me. The mature way that they handled the relationship once they started actually talking and not sulking around was so refreshing and wonderful. It felt so real and that made it even more special. I loved that the thing that brought them together in the first place also helped bring them back to each other. 

I knew from the moment that I picked this book up that this one was gonna be special, and I am happy to say that I was not wrong. This book had some unofficial main characters as well and their story was just as beautiful and compelling as Dani and Dylan’s. The Starry Night, Francesca, and William had major roles and through their story the team was able to gleam the information to find the lost ship. The history, the intrigue and the incredible and heartbreaking love story added so much to this book, I can’t even put it into words. I highly recommend this book to everyone. It is low on drama and angst, high on adventure and intrigue and a whole lot of fun to read. 

A review copy was provided by the author for an honest review.

Notable Quotes

As his hands swept sand away to reveal the broken wood and decaying wood below, I watched in awe. He was so meticulous with his movements. I was more inclined to wave my hands frantically to unearth what was below, he took his time. He made each movement with deliberation. I could have watched him all day. He was sexy when he was working the deck of the boat, or gripping the steering wheel with his commanding presence, but down here, in my world, it was even better. It was my two favorite things combined. The fluid hug of ocean and seeing the man I loved hard at work. I would have kept drooling into my mask, had he not motioned for me to swim over to him.


As much as the possibility of getting hurt scares me, the possibility of not being with you hurts even more.


I’d found lots of things underwater, but none of them were ever worth much. Hurricane ravaged and owner error sunken fishing boats were the main hauls of our operation. Finding Dani was like finding the entire contents of the ocean floor in one well-kept, long, lean, and sexy package.


I wanted to find that ship more than ever . For her. And for me. The idea of putting down a marker on a map for this wreck was going to be the closure I didn’t even realize I needed. It would solidify that I was good at my job. It would put an end to any of the doubt I had about being able to do this. That and it would also be the final chapter of my story with Daniella Alvarez.


I never felt more alive than I did diving a wreck. This is what I wanted to do with my life. This is where I was meant to be. It’s too back mermaid wasn’t a job possibility. I would have rocked a seashell bikini top. The only thing that would have stopped me from signing up immediately was the man I knew was waiting for me on the surface. Could I, would I, be able to give up warm air and clear waters of The Keys for a life in the frigid north east? 

13092119_1301357193213234_3953024824571425452_n 13162569_1719979851594888_783873795_n 13187656_1719958948263645_64363948_n

Buy Links

Below the Surface :

amazon1nookibooks

About the Author

Born and raised in the middle of a Midwestern cornfield (not literally, that would be weird), I’ve spent my entire life imagining stories. Stories where the right guy always gets the right girl, first kisses are as magical as they are on the big screen and anything is completely possible if you believe.

Although this journey began years ago, it recently took on a whole new life. After years of devouring hundreds of Romance, YA and New Adult novels, I had an epiphany… I should write a book. And I did it!

If I’m not reading, writing, enjoying drinks with my amazing group of girlfriends or chasing around a sarcastically funny kid, I’m probably watching television shows that were created for teenagers, while my husband teases that I’m too old to watch them.

Website  •  Facebook  •  Twitter  •  Goodreads

audiobooks_738x90

Leave a Reply

