This Is War, Baby by K. Webster – Review

This Is War, Baby

28094098Synopsis

My life had a plan. Until he invaded it and stole it all away. My captor took me and I became a pawn.

His strategy changed and he sent me away to WAR, because money is everything in this world.

In my WAR, though, I found peace.

I couldn’t help but find love where I least expected it, with a man who lived a battle every day of his life
…all inside his head.

But then my captor came back for me.
Yet, this time, battle lines had been drawn and I was protected.

So we thought.
Even though my WAR was raging,
my captor would fight to the death.

The good guys always win, right?
Not always.

All’s fair in love and WAR, right?
Not this time.

goodreads

Review

5 Stars

As soon as I finished this book I wrote this on Goodreads “I have no words. This book was so incredible I don’t know how to write a review. As soon as I can gather my thoughts about the amazingness I just read, I will write a full review.” In some ways I still feel like that. How am I going to review this and express the amazingness without being spoilery? I will say that it is not an easy read and please heed the following warning : “This is War, Baby is a dark romance. A really dark one. So dark you’re going to wish you had a flashlight to see yourself to the end and someone to hold your hand. Human trafficking, dubious consent, and strong sexual themes that could trigger emotional distress are found in this story. This story is NOT for everyone.”

My Thoughts

This book starts off like any romance involving high school age people, but you are quickly thrown for a loop. This part of the story was seriously hard to read, but at the same time I was compelled to keep reading because of Baylee. I loved her character from the start. She was strong, smart and seeing the events through her eyes made the story a little bit easier to read.

So the basics… she was kidnapped by a crazy, intense, messed up man who has claimed her as his own. He will stop at nothing to keep her, and that is where he is truly terrifying. Enter War the man she was sold to. This part of the story was still hard to read but in a different way. War is a broken man that also happens to be a gorgeous rich young man who has a slew of mental issues and is in a prison of his fears and obsession.

War… I loved War. His obsessions were debilitating and it was heartbreaking. Ever time we got to see the world through his POV I fell a little harder for him. It was so real and brutal and beautiful that your heart breaks while you swoon. They are an old couple at first but as they start sharing and trusting each other they from something that neither of them expects but both welcome. She is his peace and he is her savior, until it is all wrecked again by her kidnapper and tormentor. At the end we are left with more questions that we started with, but it has been a week since I read this book and I still can’t get these characters out of my head, luckily there is not a very long wait for book two. I cannot wait to revisit these characters and get answers.

I highly recommend this book if you can handle a little darker of a read and some uncomfortable situations. I was hooked from the first word and could not put this down. I felt compelled to finish this book and am so happy that I did. K. Webster’s writing in this book is phenomenal. She can take a monster and make you feel for him, and at the same time fear and loathe him. Everything about this story felt so real and raw and beautiful that I have a feeling this will be one of my go to books.

A review copy was provided by the author for an honest review.

1074140_1733510566929330_2497311998255588344_o 10494937_1733510606929326_1339745756414127394_o 11261852_1733510633595990_4106499995162491033_o 12745626_1733510540262666_2229292549272985256_n 12745892_1733510553595998_4389468764540083334_n

18256927._SX540_

 

Reading Order and Buy Links

This is War, Baby:

amazon1nookibooks

About the Author

K Webster is the author of dozens of romance books in many different genres including contemporary romance, historical romance, paranormal romance, and erotic romance. When not spending time with her husband of twelve years and two adorable children, she’s active on social media connecting with her readers.

Her other passions besides writing include reading and graphic design. K can always be found in front of her computer chasing her next idea and taking action. She looks forward to the day when she will see one of her titles on the big screen.

Website  •  Facebook  •  Twitter  •  Goodreads

2 thoughts on “This Is War, Baby by K. Webster – Review

  1. Pingback: This is War, Baby by K. Webster – Blog Tour and Giveaway | Jack of all trades, Master of None

  2. Pingback: Top Books of 2016 – First 6 Months | Jack of all trades, Master of None

Leave a Reply

