2016 Reading Challenges Update Month 2

2016 reading challenge

This post is a way to keep motivated and stay on top of my 2016 reading challenges. You can see my original post and goals here. 

The first challenge is always my Goodreads Challenge.

You can follow my progress here: https://www.goodreads.com/challenges/3890-2016-reading-challenge

This year I set the goal to be 150 books. My Goodreads Challenge is off to a good start with 30 of 150 books.

2016 reading challenge - FEB

My second challenge is the Finishing the series challenge.

GOALS

I’m shooting for Level 4 in this challenge – which is finishing 7 or more series by December 31, 2016. I would love to finish one a month, but that is probably too many to commit to.

THE BOOKS

These books have been sitting on my TBR list for a while and some before they were even published. I don’t really like to commit to reading something so far in advance, but I really want to finish some of these. I have one series for each month but time will tell if I am able to complete all of these.

  • Welcome to the Point series by Jay Crownover (2 books)
  • On Dublin Street series by Samantha Young (3 books and a novella)
  • After series by Anna Todd (4 books)  I’m dropping this one from the list….
  • Neon Dreams series by Caisey Quinn (1 book)
  • Wait for You series by J. Lynn/Jennifer Armentrout (3 books, a novella and one new release)
  • #Hashtag series by Cambria Hebert (2 books and a novella)
  • Castle series by Richard Castle (2 books and one new release)
  • Fall and Rise series by Chelsea M Cameron (1 book)
  • Frigid by J. Lynn/Jennifer Armentrout (1 book)
  • Monsters in the Dark by Pepper Winters (2 books)
  • Rusk University series (1 book and a possible new release)
  • Surrender Saga by Chelsea M. Cameron (3 books)
  • The Holly Woods Files by Emma Hart (4 books and a new release) – 2 books left

I decided that I should remove a series from my list since I added on in January. I am removing the After Series by Anna Todd at this time because I has the most books in it I still need to read. These 4 books on top of an already overwhelming TBR list is too much.

February’s Series read is: N/A

I was not able to read any books towards my reading goal this month. Too many other commitments and books got in the way. There is always next month.

The Third Challenge is to clear out some of my current TBR list.

GOALS

I want to read 2 books from my TBR pile each month. I would love to do more, but any more than that would just be a bonus.That’d be 24 books off my massive TBR and that’s better than nothing, right?

THE BOOKS

I read 0 books in February toward my challenge. I did read some books that were on my TBR, but none on this list and that’s better than nothing right? They were all highly anticipated new releases and I was definitely reading.

Fourth challenge is to read a book written by an author I have never read before. I am shooting for one a month. I plan to review each one and will include it in my recaps. 

This month that book was Fuck Buddy by Scott Hildreth.

28925745

Luke and Liv have been best friends since childhood, and after seven years of failed internet ‘relationships’, Liv turns to Luke one night after 6 glasses of wine and suggests…

“Let’s be fuck buddies”

Liv is cute, strong, and has been in love with Luke since kindergarten. Luke is a free spirit who doesn’t conform to society or its belief system. Luke’s only problem? Luke has a kink. In his opinion, he likes ‘weird sex’.

Liv agrees to the weird sex, and Luke agrees to the fuck buddy relationship. BUT. They both agree, they must remain friends regardless.

Prepare to laugh, fall in love, stand up and cheer, and learn a few things. OH, and buy a new set of batteries first.

My Review 

I liked Luke and I liked Liv and I liked them together, but I wasn’t wowed with the story. It was a decent read that I enjoyed, but after some of the books I have read so far this year it just didn’t keep me glued to my Kindle. I blame my last book and the massive book hangover I still have from it.
It was a solid 3.5-4 stars for me and I recommend you give it a shot. Who doesn’t love a best friends who become Fuck Buddies story, but it was so much more than that. It was much deeper and more emotional than I was expecting but that only added to the story.

How are your challenges going so far?

Join Amazon Kindle Unlimited 30-Day Free Trial

Leave a Reply

