2016 Reading Challenges Update Month 1

2016 reading challenge

This post is a way to keep motivated and stay on top of my 2016 reading challenges. You can see my original post and goals here. 

The first challenge is always my Goodreads Challenge.

You can follow my progress here: https://www.goodreads.com/challenges/3890-2016-reading-challenge

This year I set the goal to be 150 books. My Goodreads Challenge is off to a good start with 15 of 150 books.

2016 reading challenge - Jan

My second challenge is the Finishing the series challenge.

GOALS

I’m shooting for Level 4 in this challenge – which is finishing 7 or more series by December 31, 2016. I would love to finish one a month, but that is probably too many to commit to.

THE BOOKS

These books have been sitting on my TBR list for a while and some before they were even published. I don’t really like to commit to reading something so far in advance, but I really want to finish some of these. I have one series for each month but time will tell if I am able to complete all of these.

  • Welcome to the Point series by Jay Crownover (2 books)
  • On Dublin Street series by Samantha Young (3 books and a novella)
  • After series by Anna Todd (4 books)
  • Neon Dreams series by Caisey Quinn (1 book)
  • Wait for You series by J. Lynn/Jennifer Armentrout (3 books, a novella and one new release)
  • #Hashtag series by Cambria Hebert (2 books and a novella)
  • Castle series by Richard Castle (2 books and one new release)
  • Fall and Rise series by Chelsea M Cameron (1 book)
  • Frigid by J. Lynn/Jennifer Armentrout (1 book)
  • Monsters in the Dark by Pepper Winters (2 books)
  • Rusk University series (1 book and a possible new release)
  • Surrender Saga by Chelsea M. Cameron (3 books)
  • The Holly Woods Files by Emma Hart (4 books and a new release)

For this one I actually added an additional series to the list. The Holly Woods Files by Emma Hart. I started with a book from my TBR challenge and loved it so much I read all of the books for the series that are currently out. There is another book coming out soon and possibly another later this year.

January’s Series read is:

The Holly Woods Files by Emma Hart

(7 books total in series. 3 currently released; 2 read) 


I have wanted to read this since it was released, but all of the other books kept jumping in front of it. I decided to make this book part of my 2016 challenges because I really really wanted to read it and this would almost force me to start reading. Now that I started I don’t want to stop. I loved the entire Bond family, especially Nonna, and all their over protectiveness. And Detective Drake Nash, swoon, what a smoking hot infuriating jerk, but damn to have all of that sexiness pointed at one person he could be deadly. I loved every interaction between the two, but I really want to know the story of why Noelle shot him in the foot. Once I started this book I could not put it down. There was action, suspense, mystery, comedy and off the charts steaminess. For a book with almost no sex in it, this book was hot, hot, hot. I can’t wait to start the next book in the series.


I started this book immediately after finishing the first. I wanted more of Holly Woods, Noelle, Drake and the entire Bond gang and I was not disappointed. Drake and Noelle were left in a sort of limbo at the end of the last book and I really wanted to see more of their will they or won’t they relationship. I loved every second of their back and forth. The mystery of another murder forced them to work together and figure out their crap a little faster and rockier than it could have been, but I wouldn’t expect anything less from Noelle. Tangled Bond had me turning pages even faster than Twisted Bond and I cannot wait to see what happens next in Holly Woods.

The Third Challenge is to clear out some of my current TBR list.

GOALS

I want to read 2 books from my TBR pile each month. I would love to do more, but any more than that would just be a bonus.That’d be 24 books off my massive TBR and that’s better than nothing, right?

THE BOOKS

I read 1 book in January toward my challenge. Twisted Bond by Emma Hart.

P.S. I think I am going to add a fourth challenge by trying to read a book written by an author I have never read before. I am shooting for one a month. I plan to review each one and will include it in my recaps. 

This month that book was Make Me Sin by J.T. Geissinger.

Chloe Carmichael’s life feels pretty sweet—she’s both maid of honor and florist for her best friend’s A-list wedding, things are getting serious with her boyfriend, and her flower shop is about to get a spread in a national magazine. But it all quickly turns sour whenever the best man, Bad Habit drummer A.J. Edwards, shows his face…his handsome, unforgettable face. A.J. is everything Chloe doesn’t want: tattooed, selfish, and all-around bad news. So why can’t she stop thinking about him?
Goody two-shoes Chloe isn’t exactly A.J.’s type, either, but the chemistry between them is undeniable. A.J. will be the first to say he isn’t a saint, but there’s something he’s not saying—something that would devastate Chloe. The only way he can protect her is to push her away, but the drummer finds he needs her now more than ever. When a wedding-day confrontation reveals secrets they’re both hiding, will Chloe and A.J. ever find their rhythm again?.

Check out my Review Here

How are your challenges going so far?

Leave a Reply

