I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne – REVIEW

I Wish You Were Mine

Synopsis

A year ago, Jackson Burke was married to the love of his life and playing quarterback for the Texas Redhawks. Now he’s retired, courtesy of the car accident that ruined his career—and single, after a nasty scandal torpedoed his marriage. Just as he’s starting to get used to his new life as a health and fitness columnist for Oxford magazine, his unpredictable ex shows up on his doorstep in Manhattan. Jackson should be thrilled. But he can’t stop thinking about the one person who’s always been there for him, the one girl he could never have: her younger sister.

Mollie Carrington can’t say no to Madison. After all, her older sister practically raised her. So when Madison begs for help in winning her ex-husband back, Mollie’s just glad she got over her own crush on Jackson ages ago—or so she thought. Because as Mollie reconnects with Jackson, she quickly forgets all her reasons to stay loyal to her sister. Tempted by Jackson’s mellow drawl and cowboy good looks, Mollie is sick and tired of coming in second place. But she can’t win if she doesn’t play the game.

Review

4 Stars

I have been not so patiently waiting for the next installment of this series since I finished Irresistibly Yours. Jackson was a mystery in the last book and I looked forward to seeing what this former football player was thinking. I was not disappointed this story was so good. Highly recommended if you like your beefcake with a side of nerdy science and a little ex-wife drama.

My Thoughts

Jackson Burke had his entire life turned upside down. He lost his football career because of a car accident and this his wife filed for divorce while he was in the hospital. Not to mention that piece of work accused him of cheating on her and being a horrible husband, none of which is true. I couldn’t help but feel for Jackson. I completely understood why he was this gruff and unsociable guy. He was in a new place and didn’t feel like he fit in at all and was mourning the loss of his one true love, football. The entire story he is trying to get back to the familiar and comfortable. I’ll admit I was a lot frustrated that he wouldn’t adapt even a little bit to his new world and firmly had one foot in the past. There were a few times I wanted to slap some sense into him to open his eyes and see how good he has it now.

Mollie Carrington is loving her life in New York. She moved away from the sister that tries to manipulate her all the time and the only boy she ever loved. Too bad the boy was married to her sister. The same sister that drug him through the mud and destroyed his reputation along with his career. I loved, loved, loved Mollie. She was a nerdy girl at heart, but was so sweet, caring and loyal that I was a part of her fan club from the start.

Her sister, Madison, tries to manipulate her in to spying on Jackson in New York. I couldn’t help but hear the Jaws theme in my head every time Madison was mentioned, or showed up somewhere. Jackson and Mollie had been close while he was married to Madison, and when he desperately needs a friend in New York he calls Mollie. She needs a place to stay and he has room so they move in together. For me this is where the story picks up. She turns Jackson’s world upside down again, but in a good way this time. She gets him to open up, enjoy life a little, and even make friends with his colleagues. Speaking of colleagues I loved seeing the Oxford and Stilleto crews again. When Madison comes back in the picture the fledgling relationship between Jackson and Mollie suffers each and every time. She is a walking tornado in his life and I could not stand her at all.

In the end Jackson has to decide if he wants his old life or a new life in New York. I loved these to together so much. I did not want the story to end, but I am looking forward to Lincoln’s story and getting to see more from all my favorites. I would highly recommend this book. There is ex-wife drama, but the angst factor is pretty low and most of the time you knew she was just trying to cause problems, so it as easily dismissed. Jackson and Mollie’s relationship and steaminess more than makes up for and Madison drama. Overall if was a super fun read and has me clamoring for more stories from this crew.

A review copy was provided by Netgalley for an honest review.

Notable Quotes

Tonight at her sister’s wedding, Mollie Carrington had gone and fallen head over heels in love. With the groom.


”Mollie, is that why you went all Rain Man on me during dinner? Because you wanted to say yes but thought you shouldn’t?”
“Rain Man?”
“He winced. “God, tell me you’ve seen it. I know I’m old, but it’s a classic.”
“I’ve seen Rain Man, I just don’t’ thing I am Rain Man.”
“Molls, you rattled off like the fifty most common diseases I was likely to die from. You paused only when the server brought over our food, and then you proceeded to tell him the diseases he was likely to die from.”
She waved this away. “I tend to talk diseases when I’m nervous. That and animal mating habits, apparently.”


Her brain might be over her crush on Jackson, but her heart . . . Her heart was still hung up big-time on this guy she could never have.


He’d been keeping his distance. He’d had to. But today he didn’t want to. He wanted to see her. Needed to see her. He needed Mollie.  


Mollie had been kissed before. Plenty of times. But nothing – nothing – compared to the feel of Jackson’s mouth against hers. 


You are your own woman, and you are a woman, Mollie. You’re not a kid. You’re not a girl. And if I’ve been a complete asshole lately, it’s because I’m having a hell of a time coming to grips with the fact that I want you. And fuck, Mollie, I want you. I want you so bad, I’m dying.


You want me to talk your language? You’re my worm, Mollie. The creepy mate-for-life variety

Reading Order and Buy Links

I Wish You Were Mine : Amazon  •  Barnes and Noble  •  IBooks

23395414 18802930 18802952 18359904 23256188

About the Author

Lauren Layne is the USA Today Bestselling author of contemporary romance.

Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. In 2011, she and her husband moved from Seattle to New York City, where Lauren decided to pursue a full-time writing career. It took six months to get her first book deal (despite ardent assurances to her husband that it would only take three). Since then, Lauren’s gone on to publish ten books, including the bestselling Stiletto series, with several more on the way in 2015.

Lauren currently lives in Chicago with her husband and spoiled Pomeranian. When not writing, you’ll find her at happy hour, running at a doggedly slow pace, or trying to straighten her naturally curly hair.

Website  •  Facebook  •  Twitter  •  Goodreads 

 

One thought on “I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne – REVIEW

  1. Pingback: New Release Tuesday February 2nd, 2016 | Jack of all trades, Master of None

Leave a Reply

