Make Me Sin by J.T. Geissinger – REVIEW

Make Me Sin

SynopsisGeissinger-MakeMeSin-19399-CV-FT-V3 (1)

Chloe Carmichael’s life feels pretty sweet—she’s both maid of honor and florist for her best friend’s A-list wedding, things are getting serious with her boyfriend, and her flower shop is about to get a spread in a national magazine. But it all quickly turns sour whenever the best man, Bad Habit drummer A.J. Edwards, shows his face…his handsome, unforgettable face. A.J. is everything Chloe doesn’t want: tattooed, selfish, and all-around bad news. So why can’t she stop thinking about him?

Goody two-shoes Chloe isn’t exactly A.J.’s type, either, but the chemistry between them is undeniable. A.J. will be the first to say he isn’t a saint, but there’s something he’s not saying—something that would devastate Chloe. The only way he can protect her is to push her away, but the drummer finds he needs her now more than ever. When a wedding-day confrontation reveals secrets they’re both hiding, will Chloe and A.J. ever find their rhythm again?

Add MAKE ME SIN to Goodreads HERE

Review

4.5-Stars

I didn’t know what I was in for when I picked up this book. It was so beautifully poignant, heartbreaking and devastating, but at the same time it was so breathtaking and beautiful that by the end you were pieced back together. This story will stay with you for a long time after you read the last page.

My Thoughts

This book was a complete emotional roller coaster. Normally I am not into the heartbreaking books, but I went in this one blind and was pleasantly surprised. This my first book from this author and before I was even halfway through this book I was on Amazon one clicking the first book in this series. I can’t get enough of the boys and girls with “Bad Habit”. This is the second in a series of interconnected stand alones and I was able to jump right in, although I did want to know more of Kat and Nico.

In one word the only way to describe this book is intense. A.J. and Chloe’s chemistry is intense. Their interactions are intense. Their relationship is intense. Overall the book is intense, but not in an overwhelming way. Its more of a I can’t put this book down kind of intense. It draws you in and makes you crave more. The story was so emotional and beautiful it kept me turning pages until the end. I cannot wait for more from this author.

I loved AJ as soon as I met him. He was a broody bad boy rocker and he was kind of an ass to Chole, but their chemistry was off the charts. It was page melting hot even when they fought and couldn’t stand each other. Chole doesn’t know why AJ hates her, but wants to make peace for the sake of her friends. When she confronts him it just makes things worse and now she can’t stop thinking about this gorgeous man with a tortured past. They can’t stay away from each other and when Chole has a major trauma it has AJ stepping in and taking care of more than her injuries. Chloe wants it all, but is AJ ready to confide in her and let her help him like he helped her. Their journey is full of ups and downs but overall it is so beautifully intense and poignant you will not be able to put the book down. I highly recommend this book and I cannot wait for the next installment of the Bad Habits series.

A review copy was provided by Inkslinger PR  for an honest review.

Notable Quotes

Life’s too short to miss out on anything, even if it’s pain.


 

He fights. He fights himself so hard, it makes my heart bleed. In a flash of comprehension, I understand. All his strange behavior, all his anger, all the flip-flopping emotions he seems to go through whenever I’m near.
I reach up and touch his face. “I hurt you, somehow, don’t I? Being near me hurts you.”
His lashes flutter. In a low, chocked voice that sounds like it rises from the deepest pit of hell, A.J. answers, “Being near you makes me wanna die.”
Pain pierces my heart… “Why?”
He laughs. Somehow it’s even worse than what he’s just told me. The sound is vicious, heartless, totally without mercy. “Because you have a smile like a sunrise and eyes that could end all wars, and you have no idea, you have no fucking clue, that when you look at me, you’re looking at a dead man.”
His face twists in misery. His eyes are wet. When he speaks, his voice cracks. “But mostly because you give me hope. You fucking haunt me with hope. And I can’t forgive you for that. Now get the hell out and don’t ever come back.


I see you, A.J. I see you. All the way past your big scary exterior. You don’t have to let me in. I can’t make you, it’s obvious you don’t want to. But I want you to.


“I can’t be what you need. I’m not the man for you. We both know that.”
“Then what are we doing, A.J.? What is this? Why are you here?”
“Because I’m fucking weak! I can’t stay away from you! No matter what i do, you’re there, in my head, smiling that heartbreaker smile! I can’t stay away… and I’m so tired of trying!”


This man speaks in riddles. He is a riddle. He says one thing, and means another. He wants one thing, and allows himself another. There’s so much light in him, yet he is so very dark.
And I’m falling for him. I know it. I feel it. I want it, yet because i know there will be no happily-ever-after to this fairytale, I don’t. If I allow myself to fall in love with him, I no longer think it will merely hurt… I think it will be much worse than that. I think the fall might break me.


Every time she looks at me with those eyes of hers, I have to fight not to break down and tell her everything.
If I did, she’d run away as fast as she could. So I keep my mouth shut. And I keep her.
I told her I wasn’t selfish, but I lied. I’m the most selfish bastard who ever lived. She’ll find out soon enough. And then she’ll hate me, like I deserve.

Reading Order and Buy Links

Purchase Make Me Sin: Amazon  •  Barnes and Noble

24933557

About the Author

J.T. Geissinger is an award-winning and best-selling author of dark, sexy romance. She is the recipient of the Prism Award for Best First Book, the Golden Quill Award for Best Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, and was a finalist for the prestigious RITA© Award from the Romance Writers of America. Her work has also finaled in the Booksellers’ Best, National Readers’ Choice, and Daphne du Maurier Awards.

She lives in California with her husband, on whom all her heroes are based.

Website  •  Facebook  •  Twitter  •  Goodreads

One thought on “Make Me Sin by J.T. Geissinger – REVIEW

  1. Pingback: 2016 Reading Challenges Update Month 1 | Jack of all trades, Master of None

Leave a Reply

