Built by Jay Crownover – REVIEW

Built

Synopsis

Sometimes you have to tear everything down to build something new…

Sayer Cole is frozen inside. At least, that’s what it’s felt like for as long as she can remember. She’s yet to let anyone past her icy exterior – and the one guy she thinks might melt her heart couldn’t possibly be interested in someone so uptight.

Rough, hard and hot-as-hell, Zeb Fuller has rebuilt his life and his construction business since protecting his family sent him to jail all those years ago. His elegant client, Sayer, makes him feel like a Neanderthal in denim, but despite the many hints that he’s been dropping to get to know her better, she seems oblivious to his charms.

Just as things finally start to heat up, Zeb’s past comes back to haunt him and he needs Sayer’s professional help to right a wrong and to save more than himself. As these opposites dig in for the fight of their lives, fire and ice collide in an unstoppable explosion of steam…

Review

5 Stars

I don’t think anyone can top Captain No Fun as my favorite book boyfriend, but Mr. Fix-It came pretty damn close. This was an amazing story all around and is now one of my all time favorites. I cannot wait for the rest of this series.

My Thoughts

I am not going to lie… I was dying to get my hands on a copy of this book. I am a huge Jay Crownover fan girl and have read everything she has written. So when I got the chance to meet her in Chicago I was all over it, and even more exciting I scored a copy of this book early. I am so happy I did. This book was phenomenal. I highly recommend Jay’s other books, but this one is different because it has so much more heart, so much more swooning and just so much more. I wholeheartedly give this book all of the stars and want everyone to read it.

On to the book it’s self. When we first met Zeb and Sayer in Rowdy’s book I was intrigued by them both. I mean Zeb was a hot bearded construction worker with a heart of gold and some mistakes in his past, but you could instantly tell we were gonna see more of him when he was ready to fall. And Sayer was this quiet, reserved, fierce little thing that was fighting for a real relationship with a brother she didn’t even know existed not to long ago.

It is apparent from that first meeting in Rowdy’s book that they are circling each other, but getting to see that interaction from their points of view made me swoon a little. Zeb is an ex con and Sayer doesn’t treat him like that is all he is, which is a new and welcome experience for him. She sees him, the real him and not just the convict.

Sayer hires him to work on her house and they do a flirtation dance the entire time he is working, but it never goes any further. Sayer begins to miss him and his presence in her house and tracks him down to help her do some more work on her house. Their back and forth dance continues and is so sweet and full of sexual tension it is magnificent to be privy to.

Zeb gets some news and needs Sayer’s help in the courtroom. They start spending more time together for the case and the sparks fly. He is not going to let her brush him and his advances any longer and she soon succumbs to his charms. These two are super hot together and Jay writes some of the best steamy scenes, but Sayer has a hard time with them becoming something more. It is completely heartbreaking when Zeb has to leave her to let her work out her issues on her own and find her way back to him. This book had me in tears for them, and I never cry over books. The writing is just that powerful and beautiful.

Zeb is completely swoonworthy throughout the entire book. Whether he is talking dirty, being sweet, or somewhere in between he is one of my top book boyfriends. And Sayer is so complicated and beautiful both inside and out, that most of the time I wasn’t sure if I wanted to hug her or shake her to get her out of her own head. Together they make one of my favorite book couples ever.

Once I started reading this book I could not put it down until I was finished.I’m calling it now, this book will be in my top of 2016 list without a doubt. I can’t wait to see what Jay has in store for Avett and Quaid in the next book Charged, out May 24.

I won a copy early from the author and also purchased a copy of this book.
BuiltTeaser1_edited-1 BuiltTeaser4_edited-1

Notable Quotes

After everything the past has tried to bury us under, we owe it to ourselves to be brave, to do more than float


Everything was tied together with thin threads of fate, and when one loosened or tightened it was surprising how impactful it could be.


Tall, tatted and BUILT. Like a guy who hauled heavy stuff around and swung a hammer like Thor should be. Zeb was impressive to say the least.


I choose you, Sayer. Lover, lawyer, and all the shit you are in between that, I choose it. I choose us. When you’re ready to accept that, you come find me.


The truck is a her?….Sure. She’s classy, elegant, made of study stuff, expensive as hell to keep running and keep pretty. She’s only good to me if I’m good to her, so obviously she’s a girl.


The truth is that I like the woman you are with me and I like the woman you are in court. I like the woman you are with your brother and they way you fought to be his family. I like the woman I first met at the Bar that didn’t judge me when I told her I had been to prison. I like the woman that lets a scared young woman use her house as a sanctuary…

Reading Order and Buy Links

Built : Amazon  • Barnes & Noble  • iBooks

 27240468

About the Author

Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men and The Point series. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she’ll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. She lives in Colorado with her three dogs.

Website  •   Blog  •   Facebook   •   Twitter  •   Goodreads

Leave a Reply

