Once Kissed by Cecy Robson – REVIEW

Once Kissed by Cecy Robson

Synopsis 

Tough-as-steel cop Curran O’Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly’s finest. So he’s pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA’s office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straight-laced intern he’s supposed to protect—but not touch.

Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she’s interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won’t jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.

Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don’t include Curran. But soon she’s falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.

My Review


4 Stars

This story had action, suspense, fun banter, hot sexy times and a drool worthy hot cop. All of these things made it an entertaining read that I would recommend. I was hooked from the argyle socks.

My Thoughts

To be honest Curran O’Brien is the main reason why i liked this book. I liked Contessa ok, but she was such a contradiction that I could not make sense of. When she was among other people she appeared shy, reserved and non-confident, but when she was with Curran and his family she was a completely different person. The flipping between personalities gave me a bit of whiplash at times.

I also could not understand why she would take all that crap from her father. I like my heroines where I can relate to them as a strong woman that doesn’t take any shit or like to be controlled and/or forced into doing things. I really liked her when she was herself around Curran though so she was redeemed then, but so frustrating.

Each character had their own demons to move past, but once they started to address and work through them the story really started to move. I loved these two and their hot, hot, hot sexy times and it made for a really fun and sexy read. One thing that bothered me is that they kept alluding to their first night together and I was really hoping through out the book there would be a flashback or recreation of that night, but there was nothing. In the end I really enjoyed reading this book and am looking forward to Declan’s story and the seeing the rest of the O’Brien clan.

A review copy was provided by Netgalley for an honest review.

Notable Quotes

“You…cad.”
“What?”
“I said you’re a cad!”
“I heard what you said. I’ve just never heard anyone aside from Bugs Bunny use that word. You gonna call me scoundrel next?”


You didn’t gain weight. You gained curves. Men, real men, like curves, not effing angles.


This is the same man I tied to bed with my argyle socks!


“Women love me,” he says in the same way I ask for the time. “Do they?”
“They do. I get dates. All the time. You know why?”
“They think you have money, and want you to be their sugar daddy.”
“No. I—”
“They lost a bet.”
“No.”
“They prefer men with small dicks.”


Buy Links

Once Kissed: Amazon  •  Barnes and Noble

About the Author

CECY (pronounced Sessy) ROBSON is the Penguin Random House New Adult author of Once Perfect, Once Loved, and Once Pure, and the award-winning author of the Weird Girls Urban Fantasy Romance series. A self-proclaimed professional napper, Cecy counts among her talents a jaw-dropping knowledge of useless trivia, the ability to make her hair big, and a knack for breaking into song despite her family’s vehement protests. A writer, registered nurse, and mother living in the South, Cecy enjoys spending time with her family and silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories.

Website  •  Facebook  •  Twitter  •  Goodreads

Leave a Reply

