Wrong Number, Right Guy by Elle Casey – REVIEW

Wrong Number, Right Guy by Elle Casey

Synopsis

25809521When a mysterious text message summons May Wexler to a biker bar in downtown New Orleans, she knows something is very wrong. Her sister has sent out an SOS, but when May gets there, she’s nowhere to be found and May is the one in trouble—she’s wearing pink espadrilles, she’s got a Chihuahua in her purse, and she’s in the middle of a shootout. After tall, muscular Ozzie comes to her rescue, May has no choice but to follow him to safety. At the headquarters of his private security firm, the Bourbon Street Boys, she finds a refuge for the night—and the offer of a job. But it’s not long before a gun-toting stalker isn’t the only complication in May’s life: the more time she spends with Ozzie, the less she can deny that they’ve got some serious chemistry. A wrong number got her into this mess . . . Will it also get her the right guy?

My Review

3.5 Stars

This book turned out to be really entertaining with a blend of action, humor, romance and sexy times… if you could suspend reality for a bit and just go with it.

My Thoughts

I really, really, really wanted to like this book, and I did like the humor and some of the action/training, but overall it just didn’t click for me.

May goes to a rough part of town in an even rougher bar because the mysterious texter says to meet there. She walks in and is immediately in danger… with people shooting at her and some big hairy guy dragging her out the back door. From there everything was a little iffy for me.

May jumped head first into this new career with no real thought to her actual photography job or that she was way under qualified and way under skilled and had an insta love/lust with the big hairy beast (who was a hot muscular former military guy in reality) that rescued her. I did like the back and forth she had with Dev and the rest of the Bourbon Street Boys, but all her interactions with Ozzie and Toni had a high school immaturity about them which detracted from the overall story for me.

I have read other Elle Casey books and really liked those. But the story line of May receiving texts and thinking they are from her sister works, for a minute or two, but if you think about it at all then it  kinda falls apart. There were plenty of times where May should have paused a moment and questioned her actions. It created a rocky foundation for throwing our leads together and unfortunately, the unstable feeling continued throughout the rest of the book.

ARC kindly provided by Amazon Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

 Notable Quotes

“I need a frign break. Taking the butt strings to the arcade.”

“Butt strings?”

“I meant to say breast sling. Effing autocorrect.”

“Argh! Not breast sling! I’m going to kill the dick who shit on my ass because it’s going all jello.”

“Shit storm! Epic shit storm of autocorrect madness! . . . Please just shit me cow.


“He looks like a Duck Dynasty nut ball prepper off the range for a good long while now, but he smells like a metrosexual about to go clubbing.”


‘I don’t know how I’m going to watch his muscles bulge and not throw myself at him. This is going to be a total test of willpower.’


“What if I’m too scared?”
“I’ll ease your mind.”
“What if I’m worried you’ll break my heart?”
“I’ll show you that you’re crazy to think that.”

Wrong Number, Right Guy : Amazon  •  Barnes and Noble

About the Author

Elle Casey, a former attorney and teacher, is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling American author who lives in southern France with her husband, three kids, and a number of furry friends. She has written books in several genres and publishes an average of one full-length novel per month.

Website  •  Facebook  •  Twitter  •  Goodreads

Leave a Reply

